2017 Spring Season Overview & Conference Assignments



South Dakota  –  515 students from 21 South Dakota high school teams are participating in the South Dakota State High School Clay Target League’s (SDSHSCTL) 2017 spring trap shooting season, which began April 2nd. Last year there were 211 students on 7 teams.

“We are very pleased with the growth of clay target shooting as an activity for South Dakota high school athletes,” said Jim Sable, Executive Director of the SDSHSCTL, “such high participation growth shows the demand for alternative high school activities related to South Dakota’ longstanding outdoor traditions.”

Upon completion of the Spring League, all student athletes are invited to participate in individual and team competitions at the 2017 State Tournament. The event is scheduled for June 10th at the Aberdeen Gun Club.

Conferences are determined by team size. This year, the 21 competing teams have been divided into 4 conferences.

Conference Breakdown:

(#) = Number of student athlete scores from each team used for True Team Scoring®

Conference 1 (6)
Bon Homme High School
Dakota Valley High School
Garretson High School
Gettysburg High School
Hot Springs High School
Conference 2 (10)
Brandon Valley High School
Chamberlain High School
Harrisburg High School
Mitchell High School
Stanley County High School
Timber Lake High School
Winner/Colome High School
Conference 3 (18)
Bowdle High School
Britton-Hecla High School
Canton High School
Elk Point/Vermillion High School
Milbank High School
Conference 4 (30)
Brookings High School
Pierre TF Riggs High School
Platte-Geddes High School
Yankton High School

, , ,